01
Mar
10

You + state needs grants

Though delicious, this is NOT the type of need we're talking about.

Alright then. So you’ve heard all about how the economy isn’t doing so hot, yes? It’s true – and as you’ve learned at each and every installment of Oly in a Can, it’s meant that a lot of important programs are on the chopping block. One of the most-impacted areas is higher education, and specifically, needs-based grants.

You know why they call them “needs-based”? Because they’re based on students’ needs! And it turns out there are 73,000 students in Washington who NEED them. If they get cut, then poof! Gone. And 73,000 students are left holding the bag.

That’s crap!

So, now that the Senate and (looooooong-awaited) House budgets/revenues (yes, they are that sexy) have been released, we know exactly what we’re dealing with. And it’s not a ton – some new revenue, but a drop in the bucket compared to the need.

You don’t like cuts – they suck and they hurt us. Our state government should support our people, and that means we need to find a way to pay for these essential programs. The solution? Finding new revenue sources, and a budget that isn’t all-cuts. When you write to your legislators, ask them to support a budget that has new revenue, and that protects a vibrant Washington.

So here’s what you should do – email some legislators! It really is that easy. Email them and tell them that new revenue is vital, and that legislators must prioritize funding for need-based grants. Here’s their emails, go to it!

Speaker of the House:
Frank Chopp: chopp.frank@leg.wa.gov

Senate Ways and Means Committee Leadership (who delegate the ca$h)
Margarita Prentice: prentice.margarita@leg.wa.gov
Rodney Tom: tom.rodney@leg.wa.gov
Karen Fraser: fraser.karen@leg.wa.gov

House Ways and Means Committee Leadership
Kelli Linville: linville.kelli@leg.wa.gov
Mark Ericks: Ericks.mark@leg.wa.gov
Pat Sullivan: Sullivan.pat@leg.wa.gov

Boom!

Advertisements

0 Responses to “You + state needs grants”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: